OVH Community, your new community space.

RPS: after the iSCSI, the NFS

unclebob
04-11-2008, 17:27
Quote Originally Posted by oles@ovh.net
Another advantage of NFS is that we can use it with 2 or 3 RPS. That means that the same NFS partition is mountable on as many RPS in parallel as you want and they are automatically identical! It is therefore possible to make RPS clusters very easily and almost automatically in 1 click. With the loadbalancing IP, you can create a cluster in a few minutes with 10 RPS.
Now *that* is cool. Can this be achieved without re-installing the RPS?

Bartus-H
03-11-2008, 20:18
Hi all

I am new to OVH, and the RPS server looks like a perfect fit for my needs.

Only thing I am trying to figure out, is how to install FreeBSD instead of one of the prepared OS-es.

From this post, I gather that installing any OS should be possible.

I did connect to the server through vKVM, and am able to install FreeBSD. However, I can't boot, since FreeBSD needs to be able to net-boot, and just chosing the hd option doesn't seem to work. I can't find any documentation how the booting process works, but from the debian installation I understand that I have to make a net-boot kernel for my OS, which needs the iSCSI login details. Am I correct?

I hope someone can give me some pointers.

If I need to ask directions in a different place, please point me in the right direction.

With kind regards,

Bart

Alister
29-05-2008, 18:29
Quote Originally Posted by Palad1n
Hi,
I am a little rusty, can you please post in English....

It seems you are doing something with Coca-Cola and Jupiter...

Good morning,
Now you can reinstall your RPS NFS
instead the iSCSI. It is in the manager, a few clicks. The
NFS resettlement is still in beta insofar as one must
work on the speed of resettlement.

If you're in the iSCSI, you can resettle in NFS. If you
're NFS, you can resettle in the iSCSI.

The comparison between iSCSI and NFS
--------------------------------------