OVH Community, your new community space.

Please help a total newbie lol :(

raidensnake
09-01-2009, 22:56
overkill? you can never be too careful.

wackomoo
07-01-2009, 09:50
ddos protection? for a server hosting his family photos? a little overkill eh

raidensnake
07-01-2009, 07:07
you might also want to consider getting DDOS protection also. The best I've found for windows is FortGuard Anti-DDOS Firewall. There is a free download but the trial is limited to 2 hours then a restart is needed. However if a DDOS attack is happening recommend you use it during that time.

iand
07-01-2009, 03:21
i do recomend u purchase a firewall program and antivirus seem to be a lot of virused windows servers on ovh

freshwire
07-01-2009, 02:00
Your Welcome.

Jonathan.

George100
06-01-2009, 23:54
Thanks monkey im up and running , perfect !

Cheers you are a gentleman monkey sir , i assumed i needed a specific program other than that , thanks for your constructive posting .

This is my first ever time doing this , i lack experience , not intelligence btw.

Andy
06-01-2009, 23:48
If you don't know how to install a program on Windows, then why do you use a computer? That is what I am trying to say. You are not ready for a dedicated server. Don't let me stop you trying to use one, but I won't be helping you with such simple things.

George100
06-01-2009, 23:46
ok thanks monkey , il see what i can do with that.

Wow Andy , im only asking for what program to get me up and running and installing stuff to run it from the server , once im connected it will be no worries at all , but thanks for laying into me anyway!

Andy
06-01-2009, 23:41
If you don't know such basic things, you don't need a dedicated server. Go back to shared/reseller hosting. Simple really. I'd love to help but not knowing such simple things, its not in my interest to help. I'm not patient enough.

freshwire
06-01-2009, 23:38
You can use remote control software such as remote desktop or VNC.