OVH Community, your new community space.

Need a server recommendation

wackomoo
26-05-2009, 17:23
for 19.99 your going for a Celeron 1.2GHz - which isn't very much when it comes to hosting modern game's servers.

Ashley
26-05-2009, 15:20
I'd actually go with a Kimsufi. Maps, server addons and the binary itself will eat into 10gb very quickly.

Plus you can run more stuff like HLTV and you don't have the latency of reading from OVH's iSCSI.

Dave
26-05-2009, 14:33
Quote Originally Posted by unclebob
For a game server I'd go with the RPS - better processor and more RAM. The only real downside is the network storage, as Mark said. I have no trouble running services 24/7 on my RPS.
I agree I've had no trouble with the RPS range either, but you need to remember you get what you pay for and although I have no experience of running any game servers I would imagine if there was to be a problem it would be the storage.

What game are you planning on hosting? maybe will know what specs you need and how HDD intensive it is?

either way you look at it theirs no minimum contract or setup fee so you could try for a month and if you don't like it then swap.

unclebob
26-05-2009, 13:53
For a game server I'd go with the RPS - better processor and more RAM. The only real downside is the network storage, as Mark said. I have no trouble running services 24/7 on my RPS.

marks
26-05-2009, 13:31
Hi Matthew,

Basically, both servers platforms are our entry level servers.

RPS is our cheapest server and it hasn't got a physical hard disk but a slice of SAN to store the OS and data. If this performance is enough for what you want to achieve, only you knows. But generally speaking, RPS were thought to be personal servers for very simple applications. I wouldn't put a 24/7 applications there.