OVH Community, your new community space.

Updating of Raid and NIC Drivers

OVHelp
29-07-2009, 16:09
Not a complete novice when it comes to these sorta things. All my testing has been done in a freshly rebooted environment, with all additional services/apps switched off.

ONLY thing up is a screen with rTorrent running.

I'm going to reformatt tonight fresh, Raid0 HDDs again and install latest rTorrent - and thats it. If that fails, I might have to contact OVH further for a possible switch in Servers to see if that is the issue.

Unless anyone can point any changes they have done/seen work. I have gone through HUNDREDS of mailing lists, forums etc to try and sort this out to no avail - most suggest just an overall poor performing Server, and to swap at the end of the billing cycle.

I have even been chatting to the developers of rTorrent and Deluge to try and debug the issue, changed numerous performance increasing options/settings within both programs and it just seems that I just might have a bad egg.

Andy
29-07-2009, 15:34
Quote Originally Posted by OVHelp
I am in Raid0 mate, if u read my first post I had a very long and tedious trail and error session, and countless hours of searching to find that the EG AMD infact comes with a LSI card, and doesn't work with normal 'Creating Raid0' Guides.

Anyways yes, Im in Raid0 and still being effected.
Yes I know, but if the disks are being used for other things too, that will slow it down, so make sure no other software is running. Etc, your http server, or anything like that. Then test again. Even one piece of software using the disk could reduce the speeds. I've done various tests myself on my home RAID systems.

OVHelp
29-07-2009, 15:31
Quote Originally Posted by Andy
Remember the average 1TB hard drive can only do about 70MB/s, and that's in a linear write mode, not random. Random gets a hell of a lot less in speed.