OVH Community, your new community space.

MSG FOR ADMIN: I can't login with putty on new server. Plz help

ecadre
28-06-2008, 14:46
Quote Originally Posted by SkillMenta
EDIT: I also don't like how I don't know what's installed. I'm a linux noob and have never installed software such as LAMP by myself. If I use the reinstall OS option in the manager will I have access to the Ubuntu installer via putty? i.e. When I put the ubuntu server disc into my home server I can run through the installer and choos to install:

LAMP
openssh
DNS server
postgresql server
etc.

This would be a lot easier for me as opposed to installing manually.
Thanks
Oh, also, although I don't know what OVH actually do, I can be pretty safe in saying that there is no support bod popping in an Ubuntu installation disk, in fact would not be an Ubuntu installer running at all.

They will be copying an image of an Ubuntu setup and it is quite possible that OVH enabled the root login in their setup.

There is plenty of debate of the sudo/root issue but my feeling is that the argument for using sudo is primarily a desktop user issue. This is a server and server admins like root.

There are ways of making root login more secure with things like using an encrypted key instead of passwords and limiting entry to certain ip addresses.

ecadre
28-06-2008, 14:21
Quote Originally Posted by SkillMenta
EDIT: I also don't like how I don't know what's installed. I'm a linux noob and have never installed software such as LAMP by myself. If I use the reinstall OS option in the manager will I have access to the Ubuntu installer via putty? i.e. When I put the ubuntu server disc into my home server I can run through the installer and choos to install:

LAMP
openssh
DNS server
postgresql server
etc.

Thanks

I don't have an OVH Dedicated/Private server, but I do use Debian, which Ubuntu is derived from and with which it shares the same packaging system.