OVH Community, your new community space.

Using my own FULL Windows 2008 Standard R2 License?

mr. pineapple
24-11-2013, 23:55
If this helps, I'm a student and I use the licenses I get from dreamspark/MSDNAA they work fine for me

K-Xander
24-11-2013, 11:36
I am aware that drivers will be wiped.

How about Raid 1 Software, do I need to set that when re-installing or it's going to be added automatically?

Andy
22-11-2013, 00:48
All drives on the server will get wiped to my knowledge. USB keys I don't know but my USB HDD didn't when I had one. FTP backup will not be deleted.

K-Xander
21-11-2013, 14:20
Quote Originally Posted by glidewave
Go to Manager, Choose your dedi server, then go to Dedicated servers -> Services -> Windows Licence -> Assign the Windows SPLA license -> Add a new licence and select Windows, then enter your license number and click validate. Once set, you have to then go and reimage your server with the correct version of Windows for the key you entered (server will be completely erased).

You must do a reimage to use your own key via ovh. There are other ways, but are difficult and annoying processes, hence some users on here provide it as a service for a nominal fee as they've worked out how to do it reliably without OVH's methods.
I am planning to do a reinstall soon and I would like to know what steps I need to do in order to keep my software raid 1 with the new windows installation. My key will be a VLK (MAK_B)

Any help is appreciated, thanks.

PS: I currently got 2x SSD in software raid1. Once I reinstall windows both SDD will be completly erased right? Also, I suppose the backup USB key and FTP backup account won't be affected by this?

K-Xander
26-10-2013, 16:07
People are using their dreamspark and msdn licenses just fine as they have told.

Also my license has been bought directly from Microsoft too.

rickyday
26-10-2013, 15:20
Quote Originally Posted by K-Xander
I'm not planning to cheat and why should I do that?